1879 History of Menard & Mason Counties
Published by: O.L. Baskin & Co., Historical Publishers
186 Dearborn Street

Mason County

Governors of Illinois
Page 397

As a matter of interest to those who are interested in the political history of the State, a list of the Governors who have filled the executive department of Illinois from its organization as a Territory down to the present date, is here given, with the date and time which they served.

Ninian Edwards was the first Governor of the Territory of Illinois, serving from 1809 to 1818.

Shadrach Bond was the first Governor of the State, serving from 1818 to 1822.

Edward Coles was the second Governor, serving from 1822 to 1826.

Ninian Edwards was the third Governor of the State, serving from 1826 to 1830.MO< John Reynolds, the Old Ranger, served as the fourth Governor, from 1830 to 1834.

Joseph Duncan served as the fifth Governor, from 1834 to 1838.

Thomas Carlin served as the sixth Governor, from 1838 to 1842.

Thomas Ford was the seventh Governor, serving from 1842 to 1846.

Augustus Caesar French was the eighth Governor, serving from 1846 to 1849, when the new Constitution was adopted, and after which he was again elected, and served from 1849 to 1853.

Joel A. Matteson served as the ninth Governor, from 1853 to 1857-the last of the line of Democratic Governors.

William H. Bissell, the tenth Governor, was the first of the list which follows of Republican Governors. He served from 1857 to the 11th of March, 1860, when death removed him from the executive chair, which he had filled with great ability and to the entire satisfaction of the people who elected him. This is the first and only instance of a Governor dying during his term of office in Illinois.

John Wood, Lieutenant Governor, served out the balance of the term of Gov. Bissell, ending with 1861.

Richard Yates, the great war Governor of Illinois, served as the eleventh Governor, from 1861 to 1865.

Richard J. Oglesby, the popular soldier, served as the twelfth Governor, from 1865 to 1869.

John M. Palmer was the thirteenth Governor, serving from 1869 to 1873.

Richard J. Oglesby was elected again, as the fourteenth Governor, in 1872, but declined to serve, having been elected to the United States Senate.

John L. Beveridge, elected Lieutenant Governor, served as the fourteenth Governor, from 1873 to 1877.

Shelby M. Cullom was elected the fifteenth, Governor of Illinois, his term beginning in 1877 and ending in 1881.

With all these fifteen Governors of Illinois (except the first three), it has been the privilege of the writer to have had a personal acquaintance and more or less intimate relations, and out of that knowledge has grown a profound respect for the high qualities generally possessed by them.

Mason History Index
Every Name Index