1879 History of Menard & Mason Counties
Published by: O.L. Baskin & Co., Historical Publishers
186 Dearborn Street

Mason County

County Officers
Page 433

At the time of the organization of the county, in 1841, to the time of the adoption of the constitution, in 1848, the county business was transacted by three County Commissioners, one of whom was elected annually on the first Monday of August, at which time all county and State elections were held. The probate business was transacted by a "Probate Justice of the Peace," elected one in four years. The real estate records were kept by a County Recorder, elected once in four years, until after the adoption of the constitution, in 1848, when the Circuit Clerk became an ex officio County Recorder. Sheriffs were also ex officio County Collectors of taxed, and continued to be until the adoption of township organization, in 1862. Assessments for taxes were made by County Assessors, elected every two years, who were also ex officio County Treasurers, to the time township organization was adopted.

Mason History Index
Every Name Index