1879 History of Menard & Mason Counties
Published by: O.L. Baskin & Co., Historical Publishers
186 Dearborn Street

Mason County

County Treasurers
Page 436

Under township organization, the County Treasurers have been: 1861, J. D. W. Bowman; 1863, Selah Wheadon; 1865, Benjamin A. Rosebrough; 1867, Isaac Newton Mitchel; 1869, Benjamin West; 1871, Benjamin West, who died in August, 1873, leaving the office a defaulter; 1873, Marcellus Dearborn was appointed, and served balance of term after the death of West; 1873, Samuel Bivens was elected, and served; 1875, Samuel Bivens was elected for the third time, and is now in office.

Mason History Index
Every Name Index