1879 History of Menard & Mason Counties
Published by: O.L. Baskin & Co., Historical Publishers
186 Dearborn Street

Mason County

Circuit Judges
Page 437

Judge Samuel H. Treat, one of the Justices of the Supreme Court and Presiding Judge of the Eight Circuit, held the first term of court in Mason County of Havana, in the Ross Hotel, on the 12th of November, 1841. He appointed Joseph A. Phelps Circuit Clerk, and, in the absence of the Attorney General, appointed John D. Urquhart Attorney General, pro tempore. In two days, the docket was cleared of the thirty-eight cases thereon and court adjourned. Judge Treat held court two days in November, 1842, and disposed of thirty-eight cases on the docket; on the 8th of June, 1843, he held court one day and disposed of the twenty cases on docket. This was his last term of court in Havana. June 6, 1844, Judge Treat held the first term of court in Bath, which was his last term of court held in Mason County. Judge Samuel D. Lockwood held the next term of court on the 23d and 24th of May, 1845, and appointed Franklin S. D. Marshall Clerk of the Court. He continued to hold court in Bath until the 19th of October, 1848, which was the last term held by Judge Lockwood, and also of Marshall as Clerk. Judge David M. Woodson, of the First Circuit, held the next term of court in April, 1849, John S. Wilbourn, Clerk. The last term of court in Bath was held by Judge Woodson, November 18, 1850. Judge William A. Minshall held the next term of court at Havana, on the 19th of May, 1851. Robert S. Blackwell, Prosecuting Attorney; J. S. Wilbourn, Clerk. The Judges that have presided in the Mason County Circuit Court since Judge Minshall, have been: James Harriott, elected in 1861; Charles Turner, elected in 1867; Lyman Lacey, elected in 1873, and, at the organization of the Appellate Court, in 1877, was appointed one of the Appellate Judges in the Springfield District. Judge Lyman Lacy was again elected one of the Judges of the Thirteenth Judicial District in June, 1879, and has since been assigned to the Ottawa District as one of the Appellate Judges.

Mason History Index
Every Name Index