1879 History of Menard & Mason Counties
Published by: O.L. Baskin & Co., Historical Publishers
186 Dearborn Street

Mason County

Masters in Chancery
Page 438

The records do not show that we had any Master in Chancery before the appointment of F. S. D. Marshall, who served from an early date up to October, 1853. Date of appointment not known. Nathan Powell was the successor of Marshall, and served up to the year 1857; John S. Wilbourn was the successor of Powell, and served to the year 1861; George A. Blanchard was the successor of Wilbourn, and served one year and resigned; J. F. Coppell was appointed in October, 1862, and served to October, 1865; George A. Blanchard was appointed in October, 1865, and served three years; James M. Ruggles was appointed in November, 1867, and served to January 29, 1869, and served to August, 1875; John H. Havighorst was appointed in August, 1875, and still holds the office, in 1879.

Mason History Index
Every Name Index